## North Judson-San Pierre School Corporation Board of School Trustees Minutes of Work Session Central Office Board Meeting Room Wednesday, April 4, 2018

The North Judson-San Pierre School Board met for a Work Session on Wednesday, April 4, 2018 at 5:00 PM in the Central Office Board Meeting Room. Board President Sheila Akers called the meeting to order at 5:00 P.M. The Board members present were Board President Sheila Akers, Vice President Derrick Stalbaum, Secretary Jim Menis and members Susan McCormack and Gerald Bacon. Others present were Superintendent Dr. Annette Zupin.

The Board reviewed the Corporation Technology Plan, Wellness Plan, and Accountability and Strategic Plan. All plans will be up for approval at the May School Board Meeting.

The Board also discussed the Graduation Pathways. The Indiana State Board of Education created the Graduation Pathways in order to help create an educated and talented workforce. While the concept and theory is sound, there are many questions and matters to work through before schools can begin implementation.

Superintendent, Dr. Annette Zupin stated that she was hoping to provide the students, parents, and community with information regarding the Graduation Pathways. However, it was decided to hold off on community meetings and presentations as there are still many unanswered questions: What does it mean for schools? How will schools implement programs, courses, and opportunities to meet the requirements? Is the school or state responsible for the costs of tests and programs?

What do schools do when students transfer from other schools and states—since schools can create different programs and requirements in their pathways?

Dr. Zupin noted that the SCILL center will continue to be a very important program for our students in working towards employability and workforce skills. Dr. Zupin expressed that when the dusts settles and questions are answered, NJ-SP will do everything we can to help our students graduate through these pathway options as is done currently.

The Work Session was adjourned.

Sheila Akers, President

Derrick Stalbaum, Vice President

Jim Menis, Secretary

Susan McCormack, Member

Gerald Bacon, Member